My gigantic news!

Standard

Aaaaaaand here it is. My big news.

I GOT A BOOK DEAL, Y’ALL!

From Swoon Romance, an amazing publisher that is burning up the world of romance!

A book. With my name on the cover and all my words inside on the 200+ pages. To be sold on Amazon and stuff. Really? Somebody wants to pay me for my writing? Shut the front door!

When I opened the offer e-mail, I was all

say what

And then I read the publisher’s unbelievably flattering words about my story, and then…

happy cry

Then I wanted to shout…

excited_elf

But that would have awoken the sleeping three-year old in the next room, and we all know what happens when you wake a sleeping tot:

So I kept muttering “oh my God” over and over and my husband finally looked up from his Popular Mechanics magazine to ask “What. Is. Wrong?” I couldn’t speak so I  shoved my laptop at him and wordlessly pointed at the screen. He’s the one who noticed it was a two-book offer. Because I hadn’t gotten past “I would be honored to publish GOODBYE TO YOU in summer 2014.” So I reminded myself to

Okay. Thanks for that, Benedict. Then I called my BFF Brenda. Who got all

And got me started again. I cried some more. We laughed and I danced. This is what I looked like:

tumblr_lc43e6YnMu1qceirf

and I imagine this is how she looked in her house hundreds of miles from me.

This is what we would like if we were together:

tina and amy happy dance

We hung up and for the next few days, before I responded to the offer (I had some other submissions out, so I had to notify those folks) there were moments where I broke down and was like

sally-field-you-like-me

And then other moments where I was like this:

stewie-bouncing-o

So as of today, it’s all official. First book to come out  July 1, with the second book to release early 2015.

For all the times my inner critic said, after I read my own stuff:

image

I say:

rachel-tongue.gif

Thanks to everyone who has supported me through the years, and especially friends and family who read early versions of GOODBYE TO YOU (Mom, Aunt Peggy, Brenda, Olivia, Amy, Lola, Barbara, Jenna, Kathy, and Kristin, you ladies rock!)

And finally, to Georgia McBride, Mandy Schoen, and the rest of the Swoon Romance team, thanks for taking a chance on me and my little book. I think…

I love you

I can’t wait to work with you!

About A.J. Matthews

A transplanted mid-Atlantic girl now in the southeast, I spend most days corralling crazy children, spoiling a neurotic cat, making my husband shake his head, and writing about angtsy 20-somethings, historical hotties, & hard-headed women.

10 responses »

  1. Nancy!! I’m so so thrilled (and jealous? Nah, why be jealous? I mean, it’s not like this is my dream or anything….) and thrilled and thrilled for you! Your wonderful dedicated work is paying off and it’s the first of many many sales, I’m sure.

    • Thanks Melanie! You’re working hard, too, and you’re going to make your dream come true. 🙂 So happy I got to meet you and you’re NORMAL. My kind of normal. Which might be a little odd to other people. But good for me!

Leave a Reply

